Both of our boys participate in our church’s missionary reading program called M&M Kids. Most recently we’ve been reading to Owen the biography of Amy Carmichael. Early in her life, at the age of 20, she learned the lesson of trusting God . . .

“She would no longer confine herself to doing what she thought she could do; instead she’d trust God and see what He would do through her.”

Amy Carmichael served in India until she died in 1951 at the age of 83. Her ministry eventually housed and cared for nearly 1000 at-risk children, many of whom where young girls rescued from temple prostitution. She has influence untold thousands I’m sure, included among those are Jim and Elizabeth Elliot.

That statement captures my imagination and I wonder what God might do in my life if I learned to trust Him and not confine myself to my weak abilities!

