This week has been hectic deluxe. When this morning showed up I was just overwhelmed at how little week was left and how much there still was to do. I came to my office and just told the Lord that I didn’t have enough to get it all done. I opened up my bible to Psalms, my usual place for solace. But it didn’t click. I switched over to Isaiah and found myself in chapter 40 and at the very end of the chapter there was my solace.

“Yet those who wait (hope) for the Lord will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not get weary.” (v.31)

God’s Word revealed the true nature of my heart — that I am still determined to do all things on my own, instead of through Christ. Weeks like this one push me to the place where I just feel like I can’t do more and when in final desperation I talk to the Lord about it He calms my heart and points out that my problem is my self-reliance. My hope was in my efforts, not the Lord.

How true is His word when it says, “Revive me O Lord, according to They word.” (Ps. 119:107)

