I have been reading and thinking through Psalm 46 this morning. Sometimes it helps me to rewrite a passage in my own words. This is what I came away with for this Psalm.

“I can hide in God and He will be my strength. He is always there to help in times of trouble. Because I can hide in Him and He is my strength and is there to help me, I won’t be afraid, no matter what. Even if the ground falls away from beneath my feet!

God lives among a city, His city – the city of God. He is in this city and sustains it. It will never fall. At the crack of dawn He is there to sustain it. Meanwhile, nations are in turmoil with each other. Some fall, others rise. But God merely lifts His voice and all fall silent. They melt away before Him.

This same God is with us. This God, who goes back to Jacob, He is our fortress where we can be safe.

Take a minute and see the works, all the things God has done. He brings desolation to the Earth. He makes wars end. He destroys the weapons of war so they can’t be used again.

He calls us, tells us to take all this in. Be still. Know that I am God. Every nation will take note of me. All the Earth will know of Me and my work.

God Almighty, this ageless, timeless God is with us. He protects us!”

