“Who would, after seeking the King’s palace, be content to stand in the door, when he is invited in to dwell in the King’s presence, and share with Him in all the glory of His roayal life? Oh, let us enter in and abide, and enjoy to the full all the rich supply His wondrous love has prepared for us!” (pg 13)

Why do so many live outside the palace instead of living in it? Why have I done this so many times? I am sure the reasons are different for every person. For me, I think my pride keeps me from admiting my sin and failure. I hate coming to a holy God and telling him again that I have failed. It’s no suprise to Him. He knows of my failures. So it’s not that I hate disclosing my sin to God. I hate admiting it. I hate my own failure and having to address it. And thus, I choose to live outside the palace instead of go inside and have to face Him and admit my sin again.

How silly. How frail. Lord, help me to come to grips with my fear of failure.

What keeps you out of the palace?

