Recently I read an article that was startling. It was predicting that in the next 20 years the political and religious landscape of our nation will be radically different. Different in a hostile kind of way! Hostile in a way that would not favor a Christian worldview like you and I have experienced.

I really don’t know how accurate it was but it got me thinking. I began to think about my sons and the world they will live in when they are adults. Let’s be honest. I’m done. I have 20 to 30 years at best left in me. Any changes that take place between now to my last breathe will have limited impact on my life. But how will those changes impact my sons?

We are already experiencing an alarming exit of our 20-something’s from the church. They are walking away from the faith they were raised in at a rate we have never seen before. If they are walking away now, at a time when it is still relatively easy to claim Christ and openly have a walk of faith, what will happen when the surrounding culture is openly hostile toward them?

So I began to wonder what Bette and I needed to do to equip our sons to live in a hostile environment. I realized that with our oldest at age 12 we already have a limited window of time to influence him and help form a biblical worldview that will assist him to interact with the culture around him and be salt and light, not run from it or become like it!

One tool that has come across my desk is an event at a sister church in our area, Grace Point Church here in Newtown. “Life After Home: A conversation about releasing children to their life purpose” is scheduled for May 31 from 6pm to 7:30pm. Pastor Steve Johnson will be hosting Dr. Tim Clydesdale in an interview format that discusses preparing our children for that day when they will leave home and be on their own.

For more information, check out their website at http://www.gracepointpa.org/NewsandEvents/LifeAfterHome/tabid/151/Default.aspx.

Hope to see you there!

