“My son, give attention to my words; incline your ear to my sayings. Do not let them depart from your sight, keep them in the midst of your heart. For they are life to those who find them, and health to all their whole body. Watch over your heart with all diligence, for them it flow the springs of life.” v. 20-23.

I was talking with a friend today about how we make the Word a reality in our life. Is the secret memorizing it, lots of it? Is the secret knowing where you find all the passages on eternal security or some other doctrinal point? Is the secret a systematized structured study with fill-in the blanks and short answer questions? Surely it could be said that if one graduates from bible college or seminary the Word would be a reality in their life!

I don’t think any of these are the answer. The result of all the above is knowledge, head knowledge. Simply knowing about the Bible does not suffice. Instead the key is found in verse 4, “Let your heart hold fast my words; KEEP MY COMMANDMENTS AND LIVE.” I think the key is in “keeping” and obeying God’s Word. That is where the Bible becomes not mere principles written thousands of years ago, but instead, the Bible is proven to be true and we are changed people when we keep the commandments! I become more like Jesus. I reflect Him. I represent Him well to a lost world. My life becomes a testimony to the truth of the Bible.

