The Bible is full of “if, then” statements, “If you do this, then this will happen.” Proverbs 2 opens with an “if, then” that is huge for us. How do we tap into the fear of the Lord and the knowledge of God? We gotta have it!

My son, If you . . .

    receive my sayings
    treasure my commandments
    make your ear attentive
    incline your heart
    cry out
    lift your voice
    seek her as silver
    search as for hidden treasure

“Then you will discern the fear of the Lord, and discover the knowledge of God.”

I keep thinking about the quote I read in the sermon this past week, “What we most want will control us.”

I am embarrassed at the frivolous things I “want” when compared to the wealth that God has to offer. I am so sorry Lord for my wayward life. As the old hymn says, “Prone to wander” is so true of me. Let Your grace lead me to your riches!

