Proverbs 1 can be divided into 3 parts: verses 1-6 cite the benefits of the proverbs; verses 7-19 offers a warning of following after the “enticement of sinners;” verses 20-33 foretells the consequences of not following wisdom.

In verse 23 the reward of listening to reproof is, “I will pour out my spirit on you, I will make my words known to you.” The consequence of not listening to reproof is found in verses 30-32. They would not accept my counsel, they spurned all my reproof. So they shall eat of the fruit of their own way, and be satiated with their own devices. For the waywardness of the naive shall kill them, and the complacency of fools shall destroy them.”

Those are heavy words!

I want God’s spirit to be poured out on me. I really want God’s word to be made known to me, because I have seen the how the other side lives. I have been there, done that for a season and don’t want to return.

God is basically saying, “If you won’t do it my way I’ll leave you to your way. What ever comes of doing it your way — you get to live with it! Keep doing it! It will destroy you! See how you like that.”

The word that bothers me is “complacency.” That word has such a lazy, really negative ring to it. I don’t want to be satisfied with ‘good’ when God has the ‘best’ to offer. How do I make sure that don’t get complacent?

