“To have respect of persons and to show partiality is not good, neither is it good that man should transgress for a piece of bread.” (v21, Amplified Bible)

How many different ways do we show favoritism? I would run out of fingers and toes if I tried to count them all! My flesh will always veer toward those I perceive are ‘like’ me or that I want to like me. Christ instructs us to love the unlovely, the poor, the dirty, the overlooked, the hard to love, those who never return love, those who return hate for love, those who can’t love. Those who are black, brown, yellow. Democrats, Republicans, Communists, bigots, racists, gays, abortionists and gluttons are all on Christ’s most likely to love list. My most likely to love list doesn’t have a lot of overlap with Christ’s.

I sure don’t have anyone on my list that has cursed me in public, accused me falsely, spread lies about me, slapped me, beat me, executed me. All those people are on Christ’s most likely to love list. Matter of fact, I am on that list and I am hard to love. I have returned hate for love, I have completely ignored love.

I am the very kind of person God calls me to love.

