(Today’s post combines verses from chapter 26 & 27.)

“Smooth words may hide a wicked heart, just as a pretty glaze covers a clay pot.” (26:23)

“An open rebuke is better than hidden love! Wounds from a sincere friend are better than many kisses from an enemy.” (27:5-6)

“The heartfelt counsel of a friend is as sweet as perfume and incense.” (27:9)

“As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.” (27:17)

My closest friends are those who will risk our friendship by sharing hard observations about myself with me. I want to be that friend to others as well. I want people to know that I will say what is right and true to them even if is unpleasant or risky. It seems some people are easier to be like this with than others. My goal is to be consistent with everyone. I’m not there yet.

I have lots of thoughts about these passages. I really want to grow in the principles they speak of. I have in many ways. I haven’t in others. My thoughts are so spread out on this. I can’t collect them. I have written several drafts to post but they all begin to go into circles and seem incoherent. The issue of candor, of honesty is full of passion for me. I feel that I have been burned by people who weren’t honest. I feel I have withheld honesty from others, thus burned them. I’ll have to meditate on this longer. Look for a follow up post in the coming days!

