I am always drawn to the commands to act that I find in Scripture. I love 1 & 2 Timothy for that reason. Proverbs has much of the same characteristics in it.

In this chapter I found these verses that stood out to me:

    “Apply your heart to discipline, and your ears to words of knowledge.” (v.12)

    “But live in the fear of the Lord always.” (v.17b)

    “Listen, my son, and be wise, and direct your heart in the way.” (v.19)

    “Buy truth, and do not sell it, Get wisdom and instruction and understanding.” (v.23)

    “Give me your heart, my son, and let your eyes delight in my ways.” (v.26)

Apply
Live in the fear of the Lord
Listen
Direct your heart
Buy
Get
Give me your heart
Let your eyes delight

The area that keeps coming to my attention is that of discipline. Doing the right things at the right time. Learning how to place priority on those things of utmost importance and allowing the others to filter in as able.

For me, being in the Word, “getting wisdom and instruction and understanding” has to be the priority of my day! God, help me when I am weak and don’t follow through!

