Train up a child in the way he should go, even when he is old he will not depart from it. (v.6)

How does this verse work? Am I a pastor today because my mom dropped me off at church on Sundays or let the church bus pick me up? As far a spiritual training goes that is about all I got as a child from mom and dad. I got lots of training about how to work. They started that when I was in first grade.

I just had a thought. I have always read this verse and assumed parents were doing the training. In my case that wasn’t so. But there were many others who did pour into my life. A very special aunt. A junior high football coach. Junior high youth group leaders. My best friend’s mother (she is still training me via email and phone!). Finally, later in life my mother did some training that was very intense and special in the last few years of her life as she struggled with cancer.

Today I am the trainer. Two little boys, one with autism that demands wisdom and strength that I don’t possess, are my primary responsibility. It has been very cool to see how useful Proverbs has been in training the boys. Grant especially is beginning to pick up on bits of wisdom. When you think of it, the greatest ‘trainer’ is God’s word. I am so grateful for it in my life! I would be so lost without it!!

