“The horse is prepared for the day of battle, but victory belongs to the Lord.” (v.31)

In the day and time this was written, horses were an obvious advantage in battle. It would be easy for a nation to go into battle overconfident based on the number of horses they could throw into the fray. But this verse puts the issue in a Godly perspective: Horses are an advantage in battle but God determines the victor!

My first thought on how to apply this verse was to say that my battles are very different from those of Solomon — flesh and blood, swords and shields, life and death.

I am sure many a king went into battle feeling sure of the outcome due to the sheer size of their army. Verse 31 explicitly warns against that.

But there is another warning here as well. One that Solomon himself did not heed. One that I fail to heed as well.

Solomon began to “read his own press” as they say. He became full of himself and in doing so was convinced God’s principles didn’t apply to him. He became the man of verse 16, “A man who wanders from the way of understanding.” He didn’t lose the battle of flesh and blood. He lost the other battle. The battle against powers and forces in the heavenly places (Eph. 6:12) because he took confidence in what he thought he brought to the battle.

I have never fought a battle with flesh and blood. I have fallen off more horses than I can count! But when it comes to battles with powers and forces in the heavenly places, I fight those every hour! I fail just as Solomon did and for the same reason – I think I’ve got it covered. I tell myself that “I can handle this. I won’t bother God with this one.” It usually doesn’t go to well.

The root of this goes down to the dark side of my soul. I want to be able to say, “I did this!” (see my post on Proverbs 17) I want the glory for myself. OK, I am willing to let God handle the big stuff like major health issues, etc. But isn’t it OK for me to have the credit for the small stuff. Not with God it isn’t! He won’t share His glory with anyone. He says the victory belongs to Him.

In every area of life the only boasting I should be doing is in God. The Psalmist said it a long time ago, “Some boast in chariots, and some in horses; but we will boast in the name of the Lord, our God.” (Psalm 20:7)

