You may find yourself living in a shotgun shack
You may find yourself in another part of the world
You may find yourself behind the wheel of a large automobile
You may find yourself in a beautiful house, with a beautiful wife
You may ask yourself; Well…How did I get here?

From “Once in a Lifetime” by the Talking Heads

“Man’s steps are ordained by the Lord, how then can man understand his way?”
From Proverbs 20:24 (it’s very cool that Talking Heads and Proverbs fit nicely together!)

I don’t live in a shotgun shack, it’s called a townhouse. I do live in another part of the world, at least a different part of the world from Levelland, Texas. I have driven large automobiles, but right now it is the gray box of a car called a Scion Xb. I wouldn’t say my house is ‘beautiful’ but I really like it. My wife is beautiful!

How did I get here?

In January of ’85 I attended my brother’s wedding here in Bucks County. I was just finishing my undergrad work in marketing at Texas Tech University. I had spent the last three years wandering from God and having college fun. When I arrived for the wedding I learned that people at the church my brother attended had been praying for me to return to the Lord. That church was Crossing Community Church.

I enjoyed my bother’s friends. The church was different than any I had attended before. I didn’t know it but I met my future wife that week. (Bette gave me and some others a ride home after the wedding. She lived in the same building as my brother.) I didn’t know it but I had attended the church that I would one day pastor. Very weird! But so like God.

“How then can man understand his way?”

In the days immediately after that wedding I began to read my Bible again. I was drawn like never before. I stood in lines and read. I was reading all the time in all kinds of places.

I also began to journal again. As I was writing about what I was reading and asking questions about what it meant. I began to correspond with a key leader from CCC as well as a couple of other people at the church. God was doing something in my life, something I wasn’t quite sure how to understand – or if anyone else would understand.

Only a few weeks later I decided to test God and see what He was really up to. My hunch was that He was moving me from Lubbock, TX to Newtown, PA. I only knew two people in PA. I knew hundreds of people in TX. I didn’t know where to start finding a job in PA, I had job offers on the table in TX. All my family except my brother was in TX.

So I wrote in my journal that if indeed God was moving me to PA He had to make a way. I asked Him to do three things: Get me out of a job obligation gracefully; Get me a car that would make it all the way to PA; Get my father to give me his blessing. That was early February 1985. By mid-March all three were done!

I approached my boss at the time and explained that I was going to be leaving in a few months. She fired me on the spot. Item #1 complete!

My uncle sold me a car he had traded for, a 1980 Lincoln Versaille. Item #2 complete!

My father’s blessing. This was the one I never expected to happen. My dad was not happy my brother had left the country to live among the Yankees up North. It was common to hear some disparaging comment when the subject came up. At the time my dad lived 4 hours away. I made the trip out to see him and eventually brought up the idea of me moving. I anticipated a 15 round bout on the subject. His first words were, “If you think that’s what you need to do, then you need to do it.” I was shocked! Item #3 complete!

“Man’s steps are ordained by the Lord”

So God passed my test. He made a way when I didn’t think there was a way. He had ordained my steps.

I arrived in PA on Labor Day weekend 1985. In the 24 years God has still been ordaining my steps. I made plans that He changed. I thought we were going to work overseas. He changed that. I thought we would have the 2.3 kids, white picket fence, classic suburban lifestyle. He changed that. God has continued to guide my steps to paths I wouldn’t have chosen or didn’t know existed. I don’t understand how I got here. But I know that a completely faithful, loving, generous God has brought me to this place. And, if I have another 24 years to live, every step from now to then will be ordained by Him.

