I had a list of things from this chapter to highlight but it seemed contrived. The real issue in chapter 19 that gets my attention is that of laziness. I really, really hate laziness. I have a hard time patronizing businesses where the employees just barely do their job. I don’t want to be associated with those who are accused of laziness. I don’t want to be accused of laziness. It is a quality handed down by my father and uncle. I worked for one or both of them for the first 15 years of my life. I have all kinds of endearing but unrepeatable sayings they taught me about how to work.

Neither of them were spiritual or godly so their values didn’t come from Scripture. But nonetheless those values fall in line with many proverbs. I can thank God for those two rednecks and the way they taught me “proverbial wisdom” although I doubt they ever read the Proverbs.

