Three verses stand out today.

“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous runs into it and is safe.” (v.10) Isn’t it interesting that ‘the Lord’ isn’t the strong tower, that it is just His name that is! What a mighty God he is that even His name is safety to those who love Him!

“A brother offended is harder to be won than a strong city, and contentions are like the bars of a city.” (v.19) I have seen this be so true too many times. I try to keep short accounts with others to varying degrees of success. Resolving conflict is too much work. As 17:14 says it is better to walk away before an all out argument breaks out.

“He who finds a good wife finds a good thing, and obtains favor from the Lord.” (v.22) Apart from Jesus in my life, Bette Jo is the best thing that has ever happened to me. She has challenged my sinful ways without reservation all the while applauding and encouraging the good stuff when she sees it. I can not imagine what my life would be like without her. She has brought out the best in me. For twenty years (this Sept 30th) we have walked together through our own selfish behaviors, infertility, adoption, autism and gut-wrenching ministry stuff. Today she stands behind my role as a pastor unreservedly. There are often times when I wonder if I should take time from family to attend to certain church matters and she will be the one that says, “This is important. You need to do it.” She is a great wife and has brought indeed brought favor from the Lord on my life!

