Chapter 16 is just packed with stuff! I came across my notes from the last time I was in this chapter and there were pages of notes. I’ll keep it brief this month!

The theme that stands out to me this time is GOD IS IN CONTROL! The chapter ends with “The lot is cast into the lap, but its every decision is from the Lord.” In other words, we think we have the control but it is really God! Yet there is one thing we control, our choices.

Verse 32 says we can control our decisions, the paths we take, the attitude we have. We can “rule our spirit” is what the verse says.

In the category of ‘head-scratchers’ verse 7 is at the top of the list. “When a man’s ways are pleasing to the Lord, He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him.” What puzzles me is this, wasn’t Jesus’ ways pleasing to the Lord? His enemies were not at peace with him. (note: these are devotional thoughts I am recording. I am not researching or studying beyond the text of the day.)

So I don’t understand verse 7, but there is no misunderstanding verses 3, 6, & 20. Commit my ways to the Lord, fear the Lord, give attention to His Word and trust Him.

At the last minute verse 2 caught my attention. How easy is it to fool ourselves, to think we are acting in the best interest of others, not seeking our own agendas. Meanwhile, God knows the true motive of our heart, the deepest “why” of our actions, thoughts and words.

