There was so much in this chapter that kept calling for my attention I finally condensed all my thoughts into a short summary. This is along the lines of the bulleted statements from such books as “All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten.”

Words have power, use them well. V. 1, 2, 4, 7, 23, 26.

Have advisors in your life. Take advice, correction, rebuke to heart. There is much to learn from it. V. 22, 5, 12, 14, 10, 31

Think about what you should say before you blurt it out! V. 28.

Conflict in our life can nearly always be traced back to uncontrolled anger. V. 1, 16, 18.

Discipline yourself so others won’t have to. V. 32

Other verses I really liked:

Verse 9 says God delights in my prayers. I don’t really understand prayer, but I have felt its impact and commanded to do it. So I do. But it is especially cool that God delights in this mystical practice!

Verse 6 says “trouble is the income of the wicked” – what a great mental image!

