Verses 1 & 18 speak of diligence and discipline.

dil•i•gence: constant and earnest effort to accomplish what is undertaken; persistent exertion of body or mind.

dis•ci•pline: controlled behavior resulting from disciplinary training; self-control.

My natural tendency is toward flitting around from this to that, being swayed by every strong wind or wave and seeking the easy path toward every destination. I have these ADD tendencies I allow to take control and consume the priorities of the day. For instance, I sat down to type out this post at 9:30. It is now 12:45!

My journals are full of entries related to this life pattern. Proverbs is full of entries on why this life pattern is harmful and needs correction.

I have often wondered how much of this is how I am made, my chemical wiring, and how much is my selfish, sinful self being allowed to run free, unchecked and unhindered by obedience to God’s Word.

I am only a little closer to an answer today than I was yesterday or the day before. But my hope lies in the fact that God is actively at work in my life (Philippians 1:6). That Proverbs encourages me and prods me toward obedience for today. I will tackle tomorrow when it arrives. But for today, for this moment, I will seek to be “constant” & “controlled” and allow the Spirit of God to work in that space to do His good and perfect will.

