“He who tills his land will have plenty of bread, but he who pursues vain things lacks sense.” (v.11)

In the coarse of every day living aren’t there a ton of things we can get caught up in? TV, surfing the web, Facebook, those memory book things, our hobbies, the list could go on and on. All of these things can be well and good if we have “tilled our land.” But my problem is that I enjoy all my vain things more than I do tilling the land. The things that are really important like knowing Jesus, relationships that cause me to grow, paying the bills, discipling my sons, loving my wife – all these things should be a joy (except for the bills) and the rewards should be obvious. But for some reason that isn’t always the way it is.

God is dealing with me in the area of priorities. There are threads of my life that He is bringing together to create the perfect storm to teach me a lesson. Now if 12:1 can be true of me I just might live through the storm.

