originally posted 4/10/08
I recently read a book called The Shack by William Young (see theshackbook.com for more about the book). I really liked the book. It’s a novel, not a “how to fix” this or that in your life or ministry book. But it really made me think about my life and begin to reflect about the most important relationship I have – my relationship with Jesus.

In the book, Jesus (Yes, Jesus talks to people in this book!) makes a comment to Mack, the main (mortal) character that has caused me to begin to rethink much of what I think, do and say.

“You mean,” Mack interjected a little sarcastically, “that I can’t just ask, ‘What Would Jesus Do’?”

Jesus chuckled. “Good intentions, bad idea. Let me know how it works for you, if that’s the way you choose to go.” He paused and grew sober. “Seriously, my life was not meant to be an example to copy. Being my follower is not trying to ‘be like Jesus,’. . .” (page 149)

What I have realized from that comment is that way too much of what I think, do and say is geared towards knowing about Jesus, instead of knowing Jesus!

My time in the Word is characterized by what I can learn so I can teach it or living off the self-righteousness that comes from checking “Devotions” off my to-do list.

My actions are pre-engineered to ‘look like Jesus’ instead of being an outpouring of knowing Him. Knowing Him should influence me so much that I act like Him because of His Spirit living in me and through me.

I have studied the Bible so I would have the answers a pastor is supposed to have. And the longer I reflect on what I say and do the more I am convinced that I know some stuff about Him but don’t know Him very well. It would be like reading books and articles and the thoughts of other people about my wife, but never really spending time knowing her! Yet, she is with me every day!

I feel really sad that I have spent so much time wasted on things about Jesus, but not enough time with Jesus. So I am beginning to try to rethink why I do things & say things – rethink the way I think about Jesus.

The first step for me is to move from approaching Him as a figure of the past and more like a person in my now, who lives in me and wants me to know Him.

Do you know Him? What has been most helpful for you to know Jesus? I would love to learn with you and from you!

